The Beacon
RSS Feed

2016 Spring Athletic Awards


Senior Male Athlete of the Year: Drew Glick (Boys Cross Country & Track and Field)

Won three titles (1600m, 3200m, and 4x800m relay) at DCSAA championship, broke the DCSAA record for the mile, and is a finalist for the DC Gatorade Boys Track and Field Player of the Year; will run at the University of Pittsburgh next year.

Senior Female Athlete of the Year: Kylie Gregory (Girls Soccer)

Led team to an undefeated record and a first DCSAA title, and was named the 2015 DC Gatorade Fall Girls Soccer Player of the Year; will play at Cornell University next year.

Coach of the season: Desmond Dunham (Girls/Boys Cross Country and Track & Field)

Led boys and girls to a sweep of DCIAA titles for cross country, indoor track, and outdoor track, coached girls to a DCSAA indoor championship title, and was named The 2016 Vincent E. Reed Award for Excellence in Teaching.


Female Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Emily Morin (Girls Crew) and Kaili Gregory (Girls Soccer)

Male Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Chris Bock (Boys Crew)


Andre Wallace Award: Shikyra Jones

Finished with a 2.71 GPA and about 250 community service hours while participating in softball for 3 years, indoor & outdoor track for 2 years, and basketball for one year. During her time at Wilson, Shikyra was a part of 8 DCIAA Championship teams. Shikyra will attend Clark Atlanta University.


Girls Crew

MVP: Abby Koerner

Coaches Award: Emily Morin

Most Improved: Nadia Bangura

Scholar-Athlete: Katie Power


Boys Crew

MVP: Sam Snedden

Coaches Award: Nicky Swanson-Hutchinson

Most Improved: Ethan Klein

Scholar-Athlete: Chris Bock



MVP: Nora Parisi

Coaches Award: Sarah Thompson

Most Improved: Chichi Kari

Scholar Athlete: Pearl Strand


Varsity Baseball

MVP: Henry Cohen

Coaches Award: Ari Ettelson

Most Improved: Kameron Holland

Scholar-Athlete: Tony Fratto

Girls Outdoor Track & Field

MVP: Zakyrah Haynie

Coaches Award: Alicia Dawson

Most Improved: Kalia Brown

Rookie of the Year: Anna Cestari


Boys Outdoor Track & Field

MVP: Drew Glick

Coaches Award: Danyl Smith and Marcus Frazier

Scholar Athlete Award: Kayode Lambkin


Girls Varsity Lacrosse

MVP: Perri Hollar

Coaches Award: Lidia Solorzano

Most Improved: Clare Trinity

Scholar-Athlete: Laura Schwartz


Boys Varsity Lacrosse

MVP: Connor Mosby

Coaches Award: Noah Santos

Most Improved: Alexander Kott

Scholar-Athlete: William Sheldon


Girls Tennis

MVP: Maya Basha

Coaches Award: Natalia Thomas

Most Improved: Alexandra Tomkin


Boys Tennis

MVP: Francis Dragulet

Most Improved: Nicolas Ortiz

Rookie of the Year: Will Coad

Unsung Hero: Marko Williams


Ultimate Frisbee

MVP: Duncan Fitzgerald and Jake Radack

Coaches Award & Most Improved: Jacques Nissen

Scholar-Athlete: Sam Radack


Flag Football

MVP: Phylicia McKissick

Offensive Player of the Year: Maya Currie

Defensive Player of the Year: Rayna-Aumia Ramsawak

Coaches Award: Maya Monagan-Jones



MVP: Jenna Young

Coaches Award: Shannon Mueller

Most Improved: Jackie Williams

Scholar-Athlete: Sophie ReVeal


JV Baseball

MVP: Zachary Lordan

Coaches Award: Carl Morison

Most Improved: Jacques Nissan

Scholar-Athlete: Aaron Rosenthal


JV Girls Lacrosse

MVP: Aliyah Massey

Coaches Award: Paloma DiBella

Most Improved: Abelina DeLeon

Scholar-Athlete: Anna Bucknam


Tags: , , , ,