Fall athletic awards ceremony

As the 2015 edition of Wilson’s fall athletic season recently came to a close, the Fall Athletic Awards Ceremony on December 7 marked a time to reflect on the season for one last time before Wilson shifts to it’s winter sports. Coaches took the time to honor some of the outstanding athletes on all of Wilson’s fall teams.

In past years the seasonal awards’ ceremonies were often under attended, with some coaches and recipients absent from the event. This year however, the event, which was hosted in the auditorium by Athletic Director Mitch Gore, saw increased participation, if not full attendance from Wilson’s fall teams. Each coach started with a recap of their respective team’s season, and then preceded to give thoughtful reflections about the athletes that they were honoring.


2015 Fall Sports Awards


Player of the season: Kaili Gregory, Girls Soccer

Captain and leader of the DCIAA & DCSAA soccer champions


Coach of the season: Daniel Drickey, Girls Soccer Coach

DCIAA & DCSAA Soccer Champs, 15-0-5 Record, Ranked #9 in the Washington Post


Girls Varsity Soccer

Undefeated season capped off by becoming the first DCPS team to win the DC State Championship. Cracked ‘Washington Post Top 10’ as the ninth ranked team in the area.


Defensive MVP: Kaili Gregory

Offensive MVP: Jisca Adigo

Most Improved: Joell Frett

Coach’s Award: Mei Copacino

Scholar Athlete: Kira Lee-Genzel


Boys Varsity Soccer

Strong year ended with semi-final losses in the DCIAA and DCSAA tournaments.


Most Improved: Marco Carerro

Coach’s Award: Tommy Cerisola

Co-MVPs: Matthew Smee and Mati Cano

Scholar Athlete: Greg Kopetsky


Varsity Football

Entered DCIAA playoffs on a 10-game win streak and as the #1 seed, but historic season ended with a loss in the championship.


Co-MVPs:  Sean Savoy and Steven Williams Jr

Most Improved: Khamal Peterson 

Coach’s Award: Brian Higginbotham 

Scholar Athlete: Michael Galloway

Iron Man: Julian Cole



In a rebuilding year, team finished as the runner-ups in the DCIAA and lost in semi-finals of DCSAA.


MVP: Kayla Wiggins

Most Improved: Molly Berman

Coach’s Award: Lauren White

Scholar Athlete: Laura Gonzalez


Girls Cross Country

Captured DCIAA title for sixth year in a row, placed third in DCSAA Championship.


MVP: Arrington Peterson

Most Improved: Sofia Laine

Coaches Awards: Allie O’Brien and Meredith Ellison

Scholar Athlete: Allison Schwalb


Boys Cross Country


Captured DCIAA title for sixth year in a row, placed third in DCSAA Championship.


MVP: Aaron Coates

Most Improved:​ Isaac Frumkin

Coaches Award: Drew Glick

Scholar Athlete: Nicholas Fishman

Rookie of the Year: Tobias Severin


Field Hockey

Finished with a winning record of 5-4-1 in their best season to date.


MVP: Lily Cooper

Rookies of the Year: Kelly Harris, Sophie McInerney and Julia Arnsberger

Scholar Athlete: Pearl Strand



Proved once again that they are competitive with DC’s best teams.


MVP Most Valuable Player: Johnae’ Brittingham

MIP Most Improved Player: Cheyenne Smallwood

Coaches Award: Tanele Reynolds

Scholar Athlete: Kyah King


Girls JV Volleyball


MVP: Jasmine Davis-Rivera

Most Improved: Brianna Davis-Rivera

Coaches Award: Nadia Tewolde

Scholar Athlete: Rongjia Zhang


Girls JV Soccer

Ended season on a five-game win streak.


Most Improved: Rosalie Siegel

Most Valuable: Erin Keegan

Coaches Award: Elena Bagnoli and Kate Billings

Scholar Athlete: Lidia Solorzano


Boys JV Soccer 

Finished regular season with only one loss.


MVP: Josue Guevara-Benitez 

Most Improved Player: Aidan Saccocio

Coaches Award: Cal Menditto

Scholar-Athlete Award: Lazaro Cardenas