The Wilson Beacon

Awards + Honors


Columbia Scholastic Press Association

-Nico Artiga-Oliver: Certificate of Merit, Photo Story for News Publication

-Elias Benda: Certificate of Merit, News Features – “High School Drug Dealer Reveals His Story”


Columbia Scholastic Press Association

– Columbia Scholastic Press Association Silver Medalist Certificate

-5 CSPA Scholastic Gold Circle Awards (for individual achievement), including…

– Nathan Davis: 3rd place, News Writing – “School Board Candidates”

– Anna Viemose: 3rd place, Personal Opinion: On-Campus Issues – “Wilson’s Dress Code for Curves”

– Shane Achenbach & Claire Parker: Certificate of Merit, News Writing – “Boundaries to Change”

– Evan Hamlin & Claire Parker: Certificate of Merit, Sports News – “Tigers Disqualified”

– Izzy Jensen & Sasha Pfeiffer: Certificate of Merit, Single Subject News or Feature Package, Two Pages, Double-truck or Special Section Design Tabloid format – “Body Images”

National Scholastic Press Association

– Picture of the Year (News Picture), 3rd place : Shane Achenbach for “Sandy Strikes D.C.”

– Story of the Year (Sports Story), Honorable Mention : Evan Hamlin and Claire Parker for “Tigers Disqualified”



Columbia Scholastic Press Association

– Columbia Scholastic Press Association Gold Medalist Certificate



National Scholastic Press Association

– National Scholastic Press Association First Class Honor Rating with One Mark of Distinction


The Student News Site of Woodrow Wilson Senior High School
Awards + Honors